+353 (0) 86 893 7225 | info@seamanship.ie

Reviews

Neil Wilson 15/11/2018    See Course Here

Brillant course with Andy an Richard 1st class instructers with lots of experience. very relaxed and enjoyable course thanks guys

Tom faherty 24/10/2018    See Course Here

19 Oct.. just completed the MCA approved Engine course and Slinger Banksman course with The Seamanship Centre Team, They have a wealth of knowledge and experience that was shared on the course to make it interesting and easier to understand. Highly Recommended thank you to all at the centre and hope to see you again for further courses..

Steven Durrent 18/10/2018    See Course Here

Attended the AEC course instruction was brilliant. The knowledge that both Andy and Richard included in the course was second to none. Thanks again guys will be back soon I hope

Tommy Gillan 17/10/2018    See Course Here

I found the course excellent, it was very comprehensive covering a great range of first aid situations, together with a lot of additional details. It was delivered in a professional & informative manner. I would thoroughly recommend this college, they are a pleasure to deal with. Thank you

Gabriel Fitzgerald 17/10/2018    See Course Here

This is a very comprehensive course delivered at the very highest level at the seamanship Centre killybegs Ireland. On Ships where there is no Doctor available this course will teach you the medical skills and knowledge that you will require in order to maintain the best possible outcome when dealing with a Medical Emergency at sea. The course also teaches you how to assess, treat injuries and diognose I'll health. My Sincere thanks to Richard, Nicoleen and Nial. This course is highly recommended.

Stevie O 03/10/2018    See Course Here

Superb course with excellent instructors who communicate clearly and encourage discussion within the group on all subjects covered. The pessimist complains about the wind The optimist expects the wind to change The realist adjust the sail to suit - Richard & Andy are realist and that is why they are so good at what they do - Cheers Rich & Andy

Aodhán Brown 27/08/2018    See Course Here

Iv did various courses at the seamanship centre, the lecturers Rick and Andy are first class, it is obvious that they are very passionate about what they do, and genuinely care about providing an educational course. They both go above and beyond necessary efforts, in order to help however they can both during the courses and after. I couldn't recommend their service highley enough. Atb Aodhán

Sheriff 24/08/2018    See Course Here

Should done this coarse years ago ,probably would of saved me thousands in mistakes through the years , Andy helped all the guys at all levels with everything from cooling systems,turbos ,batteries everything it takes to maintain,service and understand your diesel engine and engine room.The seamanship centre has it all and its in a town (Killbegs)of people that just pride themselves on every element of the sea.

Sheriff 24/08/2018    See Course Here

First aid was excellent ,chance to use blue toothed dummies and difibrillators for first time ,niall was excellent delivering the coarse and definitely felt fully confident afterwards. Lovely ballyshannon for the sea survival ,excellent facilities for the coarse 10/10. Great few days with Richard and he goes above and beyond a learning experience with plenty of discussion all levels of safety and awarness for seafarers.

JP Lalor 22/07/2018    See Course Here

Well taught by very competent instructors. Everything was on time, the equipment was comprehensive and well maintained. Very cost effective.

Ben Tuimabualau 23/05/2018    See Course Here

Very knowledgeable instructor and the course is always up to date with the new IMO safety standards. This course was better than the advanced course I did in New Zealand.

Ben Tuimabualau 17/05/2018    See Course Here

I flew all the way from Fiji just to do this course and I can say it was worth every cent! Richard is an excellent course coordinator and I definitely recommend this company to everyone.

Gary Cunningham 11/05/2018    See Course Here

Recently attended this course and it was run so well and Andy Rowlands was excellent. Everything was explained clearly and in a way that just stuck in my head something which you need to pass this exam. I'd definetly recommend the Seamanship Centre to anyone looking to do there prep course.

D. Dolan 27/04/2018    See Course Here

Top class i really enjoyed it. I have had a sextant for 10 years and never used it until now.

Stephen Barr 25/04/2018    See Course Here

A great course that will help you brush up on your knowledge before the exam and explains how to answer the questions properly. I've been to a few courses here and can't recommend them enough.

eddie 25/04/2018    See Course Here

just finished the marine engine course 10 ot of 10. feel much more confident head n out on the water.

D. Dolan 23/04/2018    See Course Here

This was a really good, common sense course. I understand stability and loading much better now. Thanks to all in Killybegs.

D. Dolan 23/04/2018    See Course Here

A Very good course. I enjoyed the cyber security element.

D. Dolan. 22/04/2018    See Course Here

Top class training, good atmosphere and very professional in an informal manner.

Jonathan 20/04/2018    See Course Here

Would highly recommend this course everything you need to know about the workings of a diesel engine. Richard made the course very easy to understand and presented it in a way that was very easy to follow . On finishing the course i had a full understanding of workings of a marine diesel engine and also all the the associated elements such as electrical, batteries etc etc nothing was left uncovered Richard is a thorough professional and i would highly recommend any course in the Seamanship School after completing this one. Thank you Richard I will be back for more. Jonathan

Stephen Curran 12/04/2018    See Course Here

Just finished my M200/Oow prep course with Andy he has a world of knowledge and goes the extra mile so you understand. I then went on and passed my oral exam i really recommend anyone going for the exam to go the centre.

Keiran Lambie 04/04/2018    See Course Here

Richard and team are excellent teachers and go that extra mile to help their students, highly recommend their courses. nmci need to take note how to treat students .well done lads keep up the good work ,drop you a line when we get into killybegs .

Colin Murray 30/03/2018    See Course Here

I have done several courses with Richard and Andy and cannot recommend them enough.They always go the extra mile to ensure you understand, fantastic learning environment and first class learning facilities with a very positive atmosphere,thanks for everything.

Brendan Simpson 25/03/2018    See Course Here

I attendend the STCW Basic Safety week in March 2018, which consisted of Elementary First Aid, Personal Survival Techniques, Personal Safety & Social Responsibilities and Ship Security Awareness / Designated Duties.The instructors, who are very experienced mariners were able to share their vast knowledge in an efficient manner. Examples were adeptly modeled and comprehensively demonstrated, using a range of advanced didactic techniques which enabled me to envisage situations, thus providing me with a clear insight into some of the hazards. For instance, I was presented with a variety of scenarios which encouraged me to have to think of ways to respond. I was taught how I should prepare in advance to avoid the onset of incidents, and how to effectively deal with such events if they occur. In conclusion, I am very satisfied with what I learned. I also gained confidence and the experience was priceless. I would highly recommend the Seamanship Centre.

Sean Carty 24/01/2018    See Course Here

Top class training in a friendly and efficient environment. I would highly recommend anyone to carry out their Sea Survival, First Aid etc. with Richard, Noel and all at the Seamanship Centre.

Sean Carty 24/01/2018    See Course Here

Top class training in a friendly and efficient environment. I would highly recommend anyone to carry out their Sea Survival, First Aidetc.with Richard, Noel and all at the Seamanship Centre.

Jim O'Donnell 06/11/2017    See Course Here

Hi Helen, A huge thanks for an interesting course over the past few days. I thought your business and psychology input brought life to what I thought would be a dull subject! Thanks again! Have a great weekend! Best Regards Jim O'Donnell

Kieran Donagher 11/10/2017    See Course Here

A brilliant course executed in a timely fashion by a excellent instructor. A perfect location for in house training as well as gaining the practical experience at sea.

Quentin Ryder 21/09/2017    See Course Here

An excellent course, delivered in a thoroughly professional manner by an evidently hugely experienced Instructor. Great training centre! shows huge support.

Quentin Ryder 21/09/2017    See Course Here

An excellent course, delivered in a thoroughly professional maner by evidently hugely experienced Instructors. Great training centre! shows huge support.

Quentin Ryder 21/09/2017    See Course Here

An excellent course, delivered in a thoroughly professional maner by an evidently hugely experienced Instructor. Great, company, shows huge support.

Jude Johnston 15/09/2017    See Course Here

Having just finished my EDH with Richard and Andy at the Seamanship centre was a very relaxed experience but also very informative the way Richard gets your attention is an art that few people process. I have left a much safer and wiser seafarer . Will be looking forward to doing my next course here in the near future. Would recommend the seamanship centre to anyone looking to further their career at sea.

Danny Mullen 24/08/2017    See Course Here

This course was great, Richard is very knowledgeable and it was an informative course. Thanks Richard.

Jude Johnston 20/08/2017    See Course Here

Having just completed myMCA Marine Engine Course with Richard at The Seamanship Centre, Richards manner and approach to training kept the course interesting and informative for the entire course. Thanks Richard and Team, I'll be back soon.

Chiricuta Marian 20/08/2017    See Course Here

Hello, I'm from Romania Today I graduated the MCA approved engine courses, and I want to say that Richard is a professional instructor from which it's easy to assimilate and understand the essence of the course very easily, by finishing the course I left with a pack full of knowledge, which I very much appreciate , So I can say the same thing about Andy, well-prepared professionally. Thank you Richard, I had the pleasure of attending your course. All the good ... soon begin another course here in killybegs I'll see you soon.

Ben Shields 16/06/2017    See Course Here

Just completed the MCA AEC with Richard and Andrew. Enjoyed the class very much and found it very informative . Both the instructors enthusiasm was infectious and made the course a pleasant experience , so thank you .

Oliver Harrington 05/05/2017    See Course Here

Excellent, well presented course. It's great to be able to avail of MCA approved courses here in Ireland especially the AEC which is essential for wind farm work. Will be using the centre for training in the future.

Damien O'Doherty 24/04/2017    See Course Here

Having completed several MCA courses at The Seamanship Centre & under Andy's guidance and tuition I found him very helpful, knowledgeable, informative and professional. I would highly recommend Andy as a great tutor for any marine course holding a wealth of knowledge of the maritime industry,

Oliver Reynolds 14/04/2017    See Course Here

I really gained a lot from this course.They send out the course notes in advance by email. There is a lot of information in this course you really need to get the Course notes sent over before you attend. Good instructors, good facilities and everything ontime and as per the calander.

Malcolm Toner 12/04/2017    See Course Here

I really enjoyed the course. There is a nice mix of theory and practice. Good outcome and nice competent people.

Kobia Charnas 12/04/2017    See Course Here

Really great course! Richard and Andy are really knowledgable and friendly. Highly recommend doing your tickets through The Seamanship Centre. This was definitely the best school I have done any maritime training through. Also really nice website, easy to use and very informative.

Mo McManus 03/04/2017    See Course Here

Great course Richard! I highly recommend this course . AEC Thanks Richard

Frankie Murphy 03/04/2017    See Course Here

Just completed MCA approved engine course and slinger course wtth Richard excellent informal and instructive method of communication with all class couldn't find fault with any aspect of the way these courses were run and couldn't praise seamanship centre enough thank you Richard

Jim O Donnell 01/03/2017    See Course Here

Jim O'Donnell reviewed The Seamanship Centre, Killybegs Harbour, Co.Donegal — 5 star February 15 at 10:26am · Just done the MCA AEC and Deck Crane course with Richard. I've been doing marine courses for 19 years and I have to say I loved Richards informal and humorous approach to teaching these subjects - he's up there with the best instructors I've come across in the last two decades. Huge thanks! See you very soon

Jim O'Donnell 21/02/2017    See Course Here

Just done the MCA AEC and Deck Crane course with Richard. I've been doing marine courses for 19 years and I have to say I loved Richards informal and humorous approach to teaching these subjects - he's up there with the best instructors I've come across in the last two decades. Huge thanks! See you very soon.

Alistair Arthur 22/01/2017    See Course Here

Great course! Gets Five Stars.

Sophie Scott 22/01/2017    See Course Here

Really great course Five Stars!

Robert Fergus 22/01/2017    See Course Here

Just completed an able seafarer deck hand course last week. An excellent course and very practical knowledge being shared, both by the instructors and the experienced crew I was lucky enough to share the course with. Looking forward to my next course in killybegs!

Brad Lurie 22/01/2017    See Course Here

The Seamanship Centre is the way to go if you are looking for high quality training, the best training centre I've been to so far.

Brad Lurie 22/01/2017    See Course Here

All recommendations for The Seamanship Centre, I can recommend it to anyone who is looking for a high quality service.

Brad Lurie 22/01/2017    See Course Here

Excellent facilities and course content, would recommend it for anyone wanting to do a PSSR

Brad Lurie 22/01/2017    See Course Here

Richard and his crew were absolutely excellent! The First Aid course was both enjoyable and informative, a definite must for anybody looking to do STCW First Aid training.

Clement Conningham 19/01/2017    See Course Here

Five Star Training Centre !!

Shaun Dorrian 19/01/2017    See Course Here

Just did my VHF course with them very well run great instructor's verey helpful.

Herman Rooney 05/01/2017    See Course Here

Best seamanship training company in the uk and ireland. I have already completed 3 courses and will be back for more. Thanks guys

Herman Rooney 05/01/2017    See Course Here

Best seamanship training company in the uk and ireland. I have already completed 3 courses and will be back for more. Thanks guys

Herman Rooney 05/01/2017    See Course Here

Best seamanship training company in the uk and ireland. I have already completed 3 courses and will be back for more. Thanks guys

Herman Rooney 05/01/2017    See Course Here

Best seamanship training company in the uk and ireland. I have already completed 3 courses and will be back for more. Thanks guys

Kevin Bonnie 07/12/2016    See Course Here

3 day first aid course was good as a refresher course and would also be great for a first timer. Knowledgeable instructors from first hand experience. Lots of detail covered some of which practical some solely theory. Looking forward to further courses.

Michael Cavanagh 30/11/2016    See Course Here

Enjoyable course, Well taught, Great instructors and good coffee.

Terry Byrne 28/10/2016    See Course Here

A well presented course, that concentrated on the vital sections of the I/C medical care package, nice small classes with more access to 1 on 1 instruction. Great that these courses are now being completed in Ireland, I'll be doing my next refresher there

Jimmy Kelly 18/10/2016    See Course Here

A great course with good instructors and well presented content. It is great that we now have an MCA approved training facility in Ireland which avoids the need to travel to the UK mainland for training. I would highly recommend the Seamanship Centre to anyone looking to avail of MCA or Dept. of Marine courses. I will be back!

Denis Lawlor 09/10/2016    See Course Here

Good course very detailed and good notes to take away and read.

seamas bailey 06/10/2016    See Course Here

a good course and very useful. Putting the theory into practice with good demonstrating and knowledge from the instructor .

Lisa Colfer 05/10/2016    See Course Here

I really enjoyed the course, I could see the instructor had to hold himself back such was his enthusism for all things Navigation. The constant referal back to Rule of the Road really sent the info home and it was presented in layers which is a great way to build up the knowlege. The Meteorology was very thorough, I have studied Meteorology and Climate Science at quite a high level and was very impressed with the delivery. The coffee was good also!! I'll be back soon for more..

Gary Parker 03/10/2016    See Course Here

Fantastic bunch of lads and excellent facilities. I've taken 5 courses with Richard and every one has been excellent. I'm now 200GT/OOW 500T so a big thank-you from me!!

Gary Parker 03/10/2016    See Course Here

Fantastic bunch of lads and excellent facilities. I've taken 5 courses with Richard and every one has been excellent. I'm now 200GT/OOW 500T so a big thank-you from me!!

Gary Parker 03/10/2016    See Course Here

Fantastic bunch of lads and excellent facilities. I've taken 5 courses with Richard and every one has been excellent. I'm now 200GT/OOW 500T so a big thank-you from me!!

Gary Parker 30/09/2016    See Course Here

Another essential course delivered brilliantly by Richard. Interesting content and practical inspired confidence to do the job. Great course! Cheers Ricky!

Gary Parker 30/09/2016    See Course Here

Superb instruction by John Roberts. I was a total numpty with charts and no amount of work alone could teach me. Within 4 days I felt confident with charts and could have circumnavigated the globe! Brilliant course! Great location! Excellent instructor!

Gary Parker 30/09/2016    See Course Here

Passed this thanks to Ricky and the 'Smoothhound'. Loved every minute of the course! John was a patient and understanding examiner. Checked out loads of places to do this course and was immediately attracted to this establishment due to location and colleagues who had previously done courses here!

Gary Parker 30/09/2016    See Course Here

Fantastic course delivered very effectively by John. For someone who was dreading the maths it was explained and demonstrated brilliantly. A valuable course and we'll worth the visit!

Gary Parker 30/09/2016    See Course Here

Great course! Helen was very, very impressive! She made a boring course interesting!

Dr Mark Wemyss 28/09/2016    See Course Here

“The course and tutors were excellent in our opinion. The course was relevant to our requirements, even more so with the extra effort by the tutors to ensure that the content was tailored for our specific circumstances. The level of knowledge and experience at hand, coupled with a desire to understand our specific needs was invaluable.”

David Mc gloin 27/09/2016    See Course Here

Outstanding course and IMO essential for anyone wanting to take the MCA oral, the instructor has a wealth of knowledge and experience and his ease at conveying it across is unparalleled, from the broader answers to the small details that can mean pass or fail Highly recommend.

Darren Reid 26/09/2016    See Course Here

A fantastic course from start to finish in a stunning location. In two days I have gained so much more confidence in my own abilities. Also getting experience in different boat types especially the “Smoothhound” which is 11m long and 700hp on tap was another positive for me. Richard was very knowledgeable and was able to back up the theory from his years of experience at sea. I will definitely be back at the Seamanship centre in the near future to complete more courses.

Darren Reid 26/09/2016    See Course Here

A fantastic course from start to finish in a stunning location. In two days I have gained so much more confidence in my own abilities. Also getting experience in different boat types especially the “Smoothhound” which is 11m long and 700hp on tap was another positive for me. Richard was very knowledgeable and was able to back up the theory from his years of experience at sea. I will definitely be back at the Seamanship centre in the near future to complete more courses.

Mike Stewart 25/09/2016    See Course Here

I only atended this course because I had to, as a prerequisite to Master Oral exam. My expectation was low. However I think it was the most benificial course I have ever taken. The instructor went the extra mile, solid real life information, well delivered. I really liked the Marine Accident Investigation part where we anylised what when wrong and picked through how the circumstances of the accident developed. Overall I now have a much cleared picture of the professional responsibilities of the Master for the safety and wellbeing of the crew and how a little learning in the area of Leadership and Management can make the whole operation of vessel a lot easier and more efficient. Great Job. Many Thanks. Mike

James Kenny 24/09/2016    See Course Here

Great course. Great couple of days craic. Learned a massive amount about the sea, weather and the boats. Richard was very knowledgable and has a mighty set up for delivering the course. What you learn over the two days will help you go out on your boat safely and with confidence.

Angus 24/09/2016    See Course Here

This was a great week! I revalidated four of the STCW Short courses Monday to Thursday The lads and Ladies at the Seamanship Centre are great. It was lighthearted but the amount of information passed was massive. Best Centre Ive been to yet, and I am at this awhile now !! I also did Yachtmaster, HELM, Stability, Engine and Deck Crane courses here over the years and they were all top class, it has to be said.

Oran Canning 24/09/2016    See Course Here

Oran Canning reviewed The Seamanship Centre, Killybegs Harbour, Co.Donegal — 5 star top class service and venue to set anyone up professionally Like

Christopher Lawless 24/09/2016    See Course Here

Christopher Lawless reviewed The Seamanship Centre, Killybegs Harbour, Co.Donegal — 5 star April 23 · I can not recommend enough. Very impressive set up and highly experienced tutor's makes The seamanship centre the best around. I attended the STCW week and although there is a lot to learn in just a few days I assure you that the tutors are outstanding and come the end of the course you'll feel confident that you have acquired all the relevant knowledge that you need. 5 stars all the way.. can't wait to return to do my OOW.

Christopher Lawless 24/09/2016    See Course Here

Christopher Lawless reviewed The Seamanship Centre, Killybegs Harbour, Co.Donegal — 5 star April 23 · I can not recommend enough. Very impressive set up and highly experienced tutor's makes The seamanship centre the best around. I attended the STCW week and although there is a lot to learn in just a few days I assure you that the tutors are outstanding and come the end of the course you'll feel confident that you have acquired all the relevant knowledge that you need. 5 stars all the way.. can't wait to return to do my OOW.

Paul Mc Loughlin 24/09/2016    See Course Here

This course is very good if you are learning Powerboat it fills in all the detail. Great! I recommend it .

Alessia Collini 24/09/2016    See Course Here

This was a very informative Introduction to navigation, Richard explained the essentials and then expanded on them in a way that left me wondering how we had covered so much information in just two days. The training centre is very well equiped but earthy and grounded just like the staff. We really enjoyed our course's and are now moving through to attain Yachtmaster in the future.

Aonghus Donohue 23/09/2016    See Course Here

Found this to be a very helpful and interesting course. The teachers were good at explaining and sharing their experience and knowledge with the class. Enjoyed the 5 day course in killybegs.

William Duncan 22/09/2016    See Course Here

Great Course. You will not find a better training centre in Ireland.

Danny Moore 22/09/2016    See Course Here

Great Training Centre! all the courses you need for offshore windfarm work and more!

Paul Mooney 22/09/2016    See Course Here

Excellent on all counts, instructors and courses, can't say any more!

Ronan O Fatharta 22/09/2016    See Course Here

This is a great place to go for courses and richard is a great teacher and will set you on the right path!

Deb Viger 22/09/2016    See Course Here

Fantastic training centre with exceptional instructors. Very encouraging and positive atmosphere. Would highly recommend to anyone looking to take courses.

Alan Arnold 22/09/2016    See Course Here

Absolutely great find, loved this school and looking forward to going back. Knowledge base of Richard the owner and tutor was outstanding. Couldn't fault a thing about it . Thank you Richard.

Van Alcorn 22/09/2016    See Course Here

The Master Mariner Factory! A Great hands on learning atmosphere. Ricky gets straight to the important points at the heart of the subject.

Conor Curtin 22/09/2016    See Course Here

Knowledgeable, Accomodating and Experienced. Great People and proper Seamen.

Norbert Bus 10/09/2016    See Course Here

I am very satisfied with the Seamanship Centre. The instructors have great and wide experience in their field and they can provide first hand knowledge. The place is well equiped with all the necessary tools you need for the actual course you are doing. I can recommend it to anybody who is interested in good quality of service! I cannot wait to go back again.

Niall Hassett 02/09/2016    See Course Here

I have attended a number of courses at "The Seamanship Centre" and have always found the training to be excellent in both content and presentation. Richard, Andrew and John have a huge knowledge base and are always happy to go the extra mile to make sure people leave knowing exactly what they need to know... I will certainly be attending training courses there in the future..

Paul Gorman 07/08/2016    See Course Here

This was a well structured course and I learned a lot of insightful and powerful management skills that could easily apply to any work situation. Our instructor Helen very much personalized the course and encouraged a lot of interaction among class mates. I equally learned a lot from the diverse group of skippers and leaders who brought their experience from all over the globe which made the course even more interesting.

John Trever 20/06/2016    See Course Here

I really learn so much on this course and the guys really give it 100% at the Seamanship Centre. I will definetly be going back for more courses.